Rail Delivery Group

Summary of Proceedings 23 November 2011

Present

Tim O'Toole (Chairman)
Sir David Higgins (vice-Chairman)
David Brown
Andrew Chivers
Tony Collins
Lindsay Durham
Martin Griffiths
Elaine Holt
David Martin
Paul Plummer
Alain Thauvette
Anton Valk
Graham Smith (Secretary)
Michael Roberts
Sir Roy McNulty

Apologies for absence: Dean Finch and Peter Maybury

Industry Forum

The Group felt that the Industry Forum had been useful as a means of communicating to the wider industry the priorities being pursued by the Rail Delivery Group. The Group welcomed the desire by the DfT, ORR and other industry parties to engage with the activities of RDG's working groups.

RDG agreed that it was important to maintain momentum with each working group during the period up to the RDG's meeting in January 2012. The benefit of each working group having a project plan that took each working group through to the conclusion of its work was noted. This would also enable RDG to identify when resources would become available to pursue RDG's further priorities.

RDG agreed that the presentations from the Industry Forum should be published on the website together with a summary of the Forum's proceedings.

The meeting considered various comments that had been made about taking a more public stance and highlighting the benefits to passengers and freight shippers. Whilst recognising that the identification of customer benefits was important, the Group's overriding priority had to be on the value for money and cost agenda, which primarily had an internal industry focus.

Rail Systems Agency (RSA)

Initial stakeholder engagement with Network Rail, DfT, ATOC and ORR had been undertaken and the response to the RSA proposals had been generally supportive. This engagement would continue. One imperative was that the creation of the RSA should not lead to higher industry costs; savings would need to be achieved elsewhere as a consequence of the introduction of the RSA.

The timeline for the RSA was now:

- A structure and governance proposal available for RDG's approval in March 2012;
- Transition to the RSA from April 2012 to March 2013;
- Shadow running of the RSA from April 2013; and
- Full running of the RSA from April 2014.

Further detail would be provided on progress at the January 2012 RDG.

The membership of the RSA working group was

Tony Collins – Virgin Trains
David Clarke – DfT
Bob Holland – Arriva
Nigel Jones – DB Schenker
Len Porter – RSSB
Jeremy Candfield – RIA
Graham Smith – RDG
Paul Plummer – Network Rail
Malcolm Brown – Angel
Peter Anderson – Balfour Beatty

Asset, Programme and Supply-Chain Management (APSCM) Working Group

The APSCM working group would be examining each of its workstreams separately but in parallel. The workstreams were:

- · Access management;
- · Route-based workbank planning;
- Cost of contingency;
- Train borne equipment;
- Network rationalisation; and
- · Scope and accountability for major projects.

Network Rail had already undertaken considerable work in each of these areas but the output was not always visible to senior management in the operating community.

The most recent working group meeting had focused upon access planning and the application of the baseline timetable. Network Rail believed that the baseline timetable would drive efficiencies in train planning for both operators and Network Rail. It should also facilitate significant efficiencies in deploying maintenance resources on a planned basis, drive better operational performance through less change and reworking and could grow revenue from greater certainty over availability of paths.

Progress to implementing the initiative seemed uncertain unless there was a clearer commercial proposition for both operators and Network Rail to drive through the changes in a way that maximised the potential efficiencies. A sub group will be set up to review the way in which the change to a baseline timetable would work on a specific Network Rail Route.

It was suggested that proposals from the APSCM working group could be tested against the RSA structure and process.

The membership of the APSCM working group was

Tim O'Toole – First Group Hugh Clancy – First Group Bob Holland – Arriva Nigel Jones – DB Schenker Alan Price – First Group Jeremy Candfield – RIA Graham Smith – RDG Jerry England – Network Rail Ian Ballentine – Network Rail

Train Utilisation Working Group

The priority for the Train Utilisation working group was to establish and populate the metrics on train utilisation and to draw information from the fares review to inform the work on demand management.

The Group considered whether this workstream was likely to produce any concrete proposals and agreed that it would be important to determine whether or not the GB rail industry was failing to maximise train utilisation. It was noted that Government's desire to provide the current level of morning peak services into London influenced train utilisation. Franchising and fares policy were seen as key drivers of utilisation with some opportunities being available on the margin.

The membership of the Train Utilisation working group was

Anton Valk – Abellio
Hugh Clancy – First Group
Rob Warnes – Abellio
Lindsay Durham – Freightliner
Vince Lucas – Go Ahead
Michael Roberts – ATOC
Richard Davies – ATOC
Graham Smith – RDG
Jonny Allen – Network Rail
Richard Thompson – Network Rail

Working Group on Technology, Innovation and the Impact on Working Practices

The focus continued to be the testing and evaluation of the Rail Value for Money study recommendations in the areas of productivity, pensions, retail, overheads and administration.

Response to the national graduate programme had been positive and the initial cross-industry meeting had been successful.

The overheads and administration workstream was concentrating on the costs imposed by the industry structure and the demands of Government, regulators and other stakeholders on the industry.

The membership of the TIWP working group was

Martin Griffiths – Stagecoach
Tim Shoveller – South West Trains
Andrew Chivers – National Express
Vernon Barker – First Group
Patrick Butcher – Network Rail
Andy Meadows – East Coast
Graham Smith – RDG
Angus Johnston – Freightliner
Kelly Barlow – Stagecoach

Cross-Industry Groups

Responses to the Cross-Industry Group questionnaire should be received shortly. By virtue of their role in the industry a number of cross-industry groups were created by Network Rail, ATOC and RSSB, all of whom were contributing to the exercise.

The Cross-Industry Group co-ordinators were

Abellio – Dominic Booth
Arriva – Roger Cobbe
ATOC – Michael Roberts
DB Schenker – Nigel Jones
Directly Operated Railways – Patrick Hinde
First Group – Hugh Clancy
Freightliner – Angus Johnston
Go Ahead – Charles Horton
National Express – Andrew Chivers
Network Rail – Garry White
Stagecoach – Kelly Barlow
Virgin – Tony Collins

Wider Engagement

Proposals made by Rick Haythornthwaite at the Bradshaw lecture for wider public engagement were being developed. This work may be extended beyond Network Rail and could be relevant to RDG should it take on a wider role.

Directly Operated Railways

The Rail Delivery Group noted that Elaine Holt was leaving DOR and that this would be her last RDG meeting as the DOR representative. The Group thanked her for her contribution and wished her well for the future.