Stations Summit 2015

Principles for the Future of Britain’s Stations Stations Summit 2015

RDG’s second summit on the&important subject of Britain’s railway stations was held on 20 October 2015 at the Westwood Development Centre in Coventry.

At this event, we formally launched the RDG Vision for Stations (PDF, 1.02Mb) which positions stations as inclusive and welcoming, and identifies three enablers for their success - people, technology and community. Nine principles (including customer focussed, seamless journey experience, flexible and long-term stewardship etc.) underpin the vision and begin to illustrate how it will be achieved.

Station Summit II also provided international learning from other European countries on how they manage their stations, explore the design challenge for historic buildings and signpost the next stage for the vision - delivery and implementation.


Time Description Speakers
From 09:30 Coffee and registration  
10:00 - 10:10 Welcome
  • Dominic Booth, Chair, RDG Station Strategy Group
10:10 - 11:10 Launching the Vision: principles for the future of Britain’s stations
Chair: Mike Goggin, Steer Davies Gleave
  • David Biggs, Manager Director Property, Network Rail
  • Loraine Martins, Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Network Rail
  • Phillip Darnton, Chair, Cycle Rail Working Group
11:30 - 11:35 Railway Children – a brief overview
  • Andy McCullough, Head of UK Policy and Programme
11:35 - 12:30 International comparison and challenge: learning from abroad (three presentations)
Chair: Simone Bailey, Asset Management Director, Abellio
  • Thierry Jacquinod, Director, SNCF (France)
  • Paul Van Doninck, Business Development, Jernhusen, (Sweden)
  • Sytze Van der Aa, Director, Business Development, Nederlandse Spoorwegen (Holland)
12:30 - 13:15 Lunch and Exhibition
  • Railway Heritage Trust
  • National Stations Improvement Programme (NSIP) Board
  • Diversity and Inclusion, Network Rail
  • Railway Children
13:15 - 14:00 The design challenge: marrying the new with the old (three presentations)
Chair: Tom Higginson, Director of Town Planning, NR
  • Simon Hickman, Principal Inspector, Historic England
  • Declan McCafferty, Partner, Grimshaw
  • Malcolm Smith, Director, ARUP
14:00 - 15:00 Implementing the vision: aligning customer and community needs (four presentations)
Chair: Jonathan Chatfield, Rail Delivery Group
  • Jacqueline Starr, Managing Director, Customer Experience, ATOC
  • Kyle Adams, Group Strategy, Network Rail
  • Mike Hewitson, Head of Policy, Transport Focus
  • Frazer Henderson, Head of Policy, Transport Scotland
15:00 - 15:15 Closing remarks
  • Cavendish Elithorn, Director Strategy, Funding and Sponsorship, Department for Transport

Related documents

Many of the speakers' presentations can be found here:



Copyright © 2020 Rail Delivery Group
About this Website