2017 shortlist

Thank you to everyone who entered the 2017 Cycle-Rail Awards.

The Awards ceremony will take place on 23 November 2017. See our speakers.


1. Best Customer Service

Rewarding improvements or excellence in overall customer service for people wishing to make journeys using cycle-rail

  • CrossCountry Trains
  • Stagecoach

2. Partnership Working and Local Government Schemes

Recognising the importance of partnership working to produce many of the facilities and activities that lead to cycle-rail integration

  • Dunblane Station, Sustrans Scotland and Stirling Council
  • Cambridge North Station, Greater Anglia

3. Innovation

Initiatives that aid or encourage integrated cycle-rail journeys in an original and creative way

  • Wirral Track renewal provisions for cyclists, MerseyRail Electrics 2002 Ltd
  • Velo Birmingham, London Midland

4. Cycling Champion

Recognising individuals for their efforts to improve cycle-rail integration

  • Steve Smith, Stagecoach
  • Internationa Cycle Rail champion, Eurostar

5. Door to Door Journeys, including Station Travel Plans

Delivery of sustainable door-to-door cycle-rail journeys through travel plans or other method

  • TransPennine Express
  • Dorking, GTR

6. Cycle Security

Recognises those who have done the most to reduce bicycle-related crime figures, either through initiative or infrastructure

  • Leyton Cycle Hub, London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • Days of Action, East Midlands Trains

7. Station of the Year

The station that has improved the most relative to its size in terms of cycle-rail integration

  • Gravesend, Southeastern
  • York, Virgin Trains East Coast

8. Operator of the Year

TOCs who have achieved excellence in the consistent delivery of services, facilities and information to encourage the use of cycle-rail

  • Southeastern
  • Stagecoach

The judges’ decision is final and no discussion or correspondence relating to any of their decisions will be entered into.


Speakers at the Cycle-Rail Awards 2017

Paul Plummer

Paul Plummer

Chief Executive - Rail Delivery Group

Paul took up his role as Chief Executive of the Rail Delivery Group in November 2015. He began working in the railway sector in 1999 when he became Chief Economist and Director of Economics and Finance at the Office of Rail Regulation. He went on to join Network Rail in 2002, and in 2008 he was appointed to the Network Rail Board as an Executive Director and Group Strategy Director at Network Rail Infrastructure Limited. In 2011, he became one of two Network Rail members of the Rail Delivery Group.

Alex Montgomery

Alex Montgomery (Monty)

UK Business Lead ‐ Azure Application Innovation

Monty has spent more than 18 years in the technology industry, the last 7 of which have been at Microsoft in a number of product, sales and strategy roles. He has a background in business applications and a passion for helping customers drive transformational outcomes through the use of technology. In his current role, Monty leads the Azure Application Innovation business in the UK, helping organisations to modernize existing customer facing and internal applications and to create new agile, innovative and intelligent applications across various platforms and mediums.

A seasoned public speaker, Monty excels at bringing together complex propositions and simplifying them for business and technical audiences, underlining value outcomes for customers of all sizes and industries. Outside of work, Monty has a young family that keeps him busy although he makes time to invest in his passion for music.

Pier Eringa

Pier Eringa

CEO - ProRail

Prior to his appointment as CEO of ProRail in April 2015, Eringa was chairman of the Albert Schweitzer hospital in Dordrecht and turned this into the best hospital in the Netherlands. Mr. Eringa is an experienced executive in public service and public administration. He started his career as an inspector of the local police in Leeuwarden and finished as police chief of the Flevoland region. He also has experience in the rail sector. Between 1999 and 2002 he was Regional Director for the Dutch Railways (NS) being responsible for rail passenger transport in the North East Netherlands. He was also Executive Vice President Security and member of the national management team.

Besides his assignment at ProRail, Eringa currently holds the following positions: Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Aveleijn, a care for clients with intellectual disabilities, Deputy Chairman Supervisory Committee Management National Police, Supervisory Board Chairman amateur section of the Royal Dutch Football Association KNVB and vice chairman KNBSB-Board.

Jesse Norman

Jesse Norman MP

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Department for Transport

Jesse was appointed to his current position with DfT on 14 June 2017. He was Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy from 18 July 2016 until 14 June 2017. He was elected as the MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire in May 2010.

During the 2010 to 2015 Parliament Jesse was a member of the Treasury Select Committee and Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Employee Ownership. In June 2015 he was elected Chair of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee.

Jesse was awarded Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year and The House Backbencher of the Year in 2012.

A- A A+