Skip to main content

World Cup of Stations

Each year Rail Delivery Group celebrates our great stations all across the UK in the World Cup of Stations tournament.

This annual tournament established in 2019, challenges 48 carefully shortlisted stations to battle it out head-to-head in an online public vote.

World Cup of Stations - logo
World Cup of Stations - trophy

The previous winners

Wemyss Bay
In 2023 we teamed up with Community Rail to find the UK's best loved station. Out of the 1,200+ stations across Britain that are supported by station adoption groups, made up entirely of volunteers, to improve the station for their community, Community Rail selected 48 to feature in the tournament.

Wemyss Bay station managed by ScotRail, won for their great volunteers work in developing a vibrant and colourful community garden as well as opening the Station Bookshop. 

Worthy runners up were Denmark Hill and Leamington Spa. 

Find out more 

Wemyss Bay World Cup of Stations plaque presentation to local team
Stourbridge Junction
After narrowly missing out in 2020, Stourbridge - and George the station cat - engaged 'cats of Twitter' fans once more to finally win the title.
Glasgow Queen Street
Glasgow Queen Street took full advantage of their popular £120m redesign which doubled the size of the old station.
Our inaugural winner, Huddersfield successfully mobilised fans and the 'cats of Twitter' through the use of their famous station cats Felix and Bolt.
Wemyss Bay World Cup of Stations plaque presentation to local team

2023 - The UK's Best Loved Station

The 2023 World Cup of Stations tournament saw us team up with Community Rail, to celebrate the great work community groups do across the country. 

Run during Community Rail Week, the competition shone a spotlight on the variety of stations and the creative ways they are used, often with help from Community Rail volunteers who work tirelessly to improve our great stations for local residents, the environment and the local economy. 

VOTING CLOSED: Wemyss Bay crowned 2023 winner